• teachersLoungeDefault
  • kidsClubhouseDefault
  • futureEducatorsDefault
  • lumbermansShedDefault
  • aboutUsDefault

Coniferous & Deciduous

What’s The Difference between Coniferous and Deciduous?                  

Trees are typically classified in two categories; coniferous and deciduous.  Coniferous trees are basically cone-bearing trees.  This category would include pine trees, spruce trees, redwood trees, cedar trees, Douglas fir trees and many others.

The second category is known as deciduous.  Deciduous trees are leaf-bearing trees which have leaves that fall off on a seasonal basis.  Deciduous trees would include maple trees, birch trees, oak trees, and elm trees, just to name a few.  Deciduous trees are known as hardwoods.

When it comes to coniferous trees, their needles can vary in size and shape.  For example, the white fir tree has 5 needles formed in each bundle or group.  Spruce and hemlock trees have single, or separate, needles.  And, lastly, flattened cedar needles resemble fish scales more than needles.  Coniferous trees are known as softwoods. Deciduous trees have branching patterns, which has to do with the way smaller twigs are arranged around larger twigs.  Branches on deciduous trees can either be alternate or opposite, although most trees have alternate branches.  For example, opposite branches are smaller twigs forming opposite a larger twig.  However, when twigs alternate locations on a tree that is called alternate branching. Whichever category a tree belongs to, each holds a special and important purpose, not only to nature and the earth, but to mankind, as well.